My Not So Perfect But Fabulous Life

using my big words to inspire… & hopefully make a difference

Unplugged January 15, 2010

Filed under: Rest,Unplug — MDunbar @ 10:02 pm

Heaven knows I do too much. Even after I have cut back and said no to so many things, I find my self at times, overwhelmed. Everyone says, “Take time for yourself” but it seems like if I ever get the chance it quickly fills with, “I really need your help”. In “Inspiration for Girlfriends” Miller gives us a guideline to help save our sanity. It is pretty simple in theory and there are only three things: Rest, Renewal, Rededication. Today we will address resting.

Miller calls her period of rest, which she takes every year and for a lengthy time, Cocooning. Miller says it is, ” an absolute requirement to renewing one’s mind, body and soul.” She suggests that we take a week to up to a month to unplug and focus ourselves but even she finds it hard to rest. I can relate. The minute I find time at home I fill it with cleaning or organizing something. I recently had surgery and they told me to rest and it was so difficult for me to just sit.

I am going to take some time for my own sanity’s sake. My life is dedicated, by choice, to helping others but when my tank is empty, then I can’t give anything to anyone. I can only be effective if I take the time to fill up spiritually. When I am totally rested and focused, I am amazed not only by what I can achieve, but about how effective I can be. Everything falls apart when I am depleted. Knowing this is half the battle and I know it is easier said than done. (There are so many other clichés I could use here!) I know I am not alone in this. We spread ourselves so thin that the least little thing will break us. I am going to challenge myself to take at least 1 hour this week only for myself: no phone, no computer, no plug.

Wish me luck.

 

2 Responses to “Unplugged”

  1. Janice Says:

    Love this one Marsha. It reminds me of the movie “Hanging Up” with Meg Ryan, Diane Keaton and Lisa Kudrow. Not to add anything else to your busy life, but watch it if you get a chance. We can all be “Eve” (Meg Ryan’s character) if we don’t take some time to cocoon.

  2. MDunbar Says:

    Janice~
    That movie is one of my favorites! I always feel like Meg Ryan and I can’t tell you how close my family is to Meg’s. My older sister is like Georgia and my younger sister is like Lisa Kudro’ s character. Very funny. We all get a long much better though. We are very close. Great movie! Thanks for reading!


Leave a Reply

